top of page

Prof. Lionel C. Kimerling

Thomas Lord Professor of Materials Science

Director, IKIM

Department of Materials Science and Engineering, MIT

Lionel C. Kimerling, Ph.D., is one of two Principal Investigators for the Integrated Photonic Systems Roadmap (IPSR) and is also Chair of the Monolithic Integration Technology Working Group (TWG). He is responsible for managing the development of the product emulator cost model and the three PSMC workshops to begin a broader discussion on architectures and component needs among all road-mapping TWGs and Product Emulator Groups (PEGs) and industrial stakeholders. The PSMC Roadmap will be developed by several TWGs and PEGs under Dr. Pfahl’s and Dr. Kimerling’s guidance.


Dr. Kimerling is the Thomas Lord Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at MIT and the founding Director of the MIT Microphotonics Center, where he conducts an active research program in the design and processing of semiconductor materials and devices. He has also served as Director of the MIT Materials Processing Center (1993-2008). Dr. Kimerling was Head of the Materials Physics Research Department at AT&T Bell Laboratories when he joined the faculty of MIT as Professor in 1990. He has authored more than 350 technical articles and holds more than 50 patents. He leads the MIT-Industry team of the Communication Technology Roadmap.


Dr. Kimerling’s research has had a fundamental impact on the understanding of chemical and electrical properties of defects in semiconductors and in the use of this knowledge for processing yield and component reliability. His research teams have enabled long-lived telecommunications lasers, developed semiconductor diagnostic methods such as DLTS, SEM-EBIC and RF-PCD, and pioneered silicon microphotonics.


Dr. Kimerling is the recipient of the 1995 Electronics Division Award of the Electrochemical Society, the 1996 MIT Perkins Award for Excellence in Graduate Advising, the 1997 Humboldt Senior Scientist Research Award and the 1999 John Bardeen Award of TMS. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the AAAS, TMS, MRS and the School of Engineering of the University of Tokyo.

bottom of page